Apple Stores Are Reportedly Getting Rid Of This Annoying Policy That Could Cost You Money

Add BGR on Google:
Google Discover

Buying a new iPhone or next-gen MacBook Pro should be fun, not a trap to secretly drain your bank account. New reports from retail insiders have exposed a controversial practice happening at some Apple stores. Normally, during the checkout process, employees offer customers a QR code to scan for Apple's "connect and personalize experience." That tool lets store reps see which Apple devices and services you already have, giving them a window to naturally recommend relevant subscription offers. But instead of having a transparent conversation with you about which subscriptions might be a good fit, insiders claim employees used this step to hit quotas.

Rather than clearly explaining the terms, staff members were quietly signing folks up for free service trials (like Apple TV or Apple Music), encouraged to pitch them as fun little free gifts. What they conveniently left out was the most important detail: These trials automatically roll into paid recurring subscriptions once the promo window ends. Shoppers, then, ultimately just ended up tapping "agree" on an iPad to finish checking out, totally unaware they were green-lighting future credit card charges.

Why risk customer trust to pad subscription numbers? It may boil down to aggressive internal pressure. Store workers were reportedly pressured by management to hit steep targets of 40% sign-up rates, with one location supposedly offering a financial bonus for whoever happened to rack up the most sign-ups. Transparency seems to have gone out the window pretty quickly here, leaving customers to both figuratively and literally pay the price.

Apple walks back its policy (and how to protect your wallet from things like this)

Fortunately, after the internet caught wind of these tactics, corporate leadership hit the brakes. Apple suspended its controversial performance metric that pushed retail staff to use this sneaky tactic. Internal memos were allegedly then circulated to stores, reminding staff they must get crystal-clear consent before activating any promo offers. Going forward, the company has reportedly clarified to staff that the customer must be the one who taps the screen to accept or decline the terms of trial offers.

While it's good to see Apple reverse this deceptive policy, you shouldn't assume your accounts are unscathed if you bought something at an Apple store in the past few months. You should check your subscriptions on Apple's App Store. Open the Settings menu, head to your profile, then open the Subscriptions tab to review things and cancel anything you don't want. You should also review your next few bank statements for good measure — you can even tag in apps designed to help you cancel subscriptions, if needed.

If you missed the window and already got billed for an unwanted service, don't just eat the cost — head to the official support portal and request a refund. Though you shouldn't ever have to deal with stuff like this, it's worthwhile to always read the fine print to protect yourself, especially when it comes to controversial privacy features from Apple. Holding companies accountable for any deceptive practices they have keeps things fair and more transparent for everyone moving forward.

Recommended